Merle Haggard Spirit Award Added to ACM Honors! 

The Academy of Country Music awards announced Monday that The ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award will be given during the ACM honors event on Tuesday August 30th. The award which is named after the late Merle Haggard will be given to an singer-songwriter who reflects integrity and steadfastness of spirit embodied by the late Merle Haggard. Besides crafting hit songs and genuine performances, the recipient of the award is also a person who has a singular vision in making an indelible path in country music!
ACM board President Ken Tucker explained why they included the award in this year’s honors.

“Merle passed shortly after our 2016 awards show and after this year’s Special Awards were announced. That said, there was simply no way the Academy could hold what may be its most heartfelt event – ACM Honors – without creating a lasting way to acknowledge his legacy. Celebrating and encouraging artists whose work echoes Merle Haggard’s indomitable spirit is beyond fitting. On behalf of the board, and with the blessing of his family, we are thrilled to create this important honor.”

The ACM Honors will take place in Nashville on August 30th. The show is being hosted by Lady Antebellum. The honors will also spotlight several artist including Jason Aldean who will receive the Triple Crown award,commemorating his ACM wins for New Male Vocalist of the year (2005), Male Vocalist of the Year (2013,2014,2015), and Entertainer of the Year which he clinched earlier this year. Glenn Campbell will receive the Career Achievement Award and Little Big Town will receive the Crystal Milestone Award. Other honors will go to Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood,Crystal Gale, Tanya Tucker, statler brothers, Jeff Walker, Eddie Rabitt, Jim “Moose” BrownShannon ForrestPaul Franklin, Justin NiebankDanny RaderMichael Rhodes, Dave Cobb and Derek Wells.

It will also be a night of music, Lady Antebellum will pull double duty with hosting and performing. Other performers include Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Bryan, Cam, Maren Morris, Cole Swindell, Miranda Lambert, Chris Young, Dan + Shay, The Band Perry, Pop Star Alicia Keys. A tribute to Glenn Campbell will be done by Dierks Bentley, Toby Keith, Blake Shelton and Keith Urban.
The ACM Honors will happen August 30th at the Ryman in downtown Nashville. Tickets are available for purchase on The ACM Honors will also be a part of a special that will air on CBS on September 9th! More information about the even can be found here.

Categories: Television

Tagged as: , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.